Ondo Decides 2020: Akeredolu Clinches APC’s Governorship Ticket

Rotimi Akeredolu

Rotimi Akeredolu: The Executive Governor of Ondo state, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) has defeated Olusola Oke, Isaac Kekemeke and others at the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with a wide margin.

Buzzupdate reports that the governor, Akeredolu polled 2,458 votes to defeat eight other aspirants that participated in the primary.

Rotimi Akeredolu: Olusola Oke (SAN) came in distant second with 262 votes followed by Isaac Kekemeke who garnered 19 votes in the contest.

Other aspirants such as Olayide Adelami and Nathaniel Adojutelegan polled four votes each while Mrs. Jumoke Anifowose scored two votes. Ambassador Olusola Iji polled nine votes. Jimi Odimayo Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Segun Abraham stood down for Akeredolu on Sunday.

While declaring Akeredolu winner of the primary election, the chairman of the election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello said a total of 3,016 delegates were accredited for the exercise while total votes cast stood at 2,793.

Of the number, 2, 760 votes were valid while 33 were declared as invalid.

Both Olayide Adelami and Nathaniel Adojutelegan tied in the fourth position with four votes apiece. Jumoke Anifowose was fifth with just two votes. Ifeoluwa Oyedele and Awodeyi Akinsehinwa got one vote each. Jimi Odimayo had no vote.

In reaction to the victory, Akeredolu tweeted: “4+4 is the code for continuity. #GODWIN.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.