Oparanozie in Nigeria’s 23-woman provisional list for Aisha Buhari Cup

South Africa pick 25
Former Super Falcons’ Captain Desire Oparanozie is among the 23 players named by Head Coach Randy Waldrum in his provisional list for the maiden edition of the Aisha Buhari Invitational Women’s Tournament, billed for Lagos from September 13 to 21.

Also in the team are first choice goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, defenders Onome Ebi and Osinachi Ohale, midfielders Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene and forwards Asisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega and Rasheedat Ajibade.

There are also goalkeepers Tochukwu Oluehi and Yewande Balogun, defenders Glory Ogbonna, Faith Ikidi, Michelle Alozie, Akudo Ogbonna, Oluwatosin Demehin and midfielders, Rita Chikwelu, Tony Payne, Regina Otu, Goodness Onyebuchi and Joy Bokiri.

Joining Oshoala, AJibade, Ordega and Oparanozie in attack are Gift Monday, Uchenna Kanu, and Esther Okoronkwo.

Meanwhile, South Africa has also named 25 players for their squad billed to arrive in Lagos next week.

Banyana Banyana’s Head Coach, Desiree Ellis said the Aisha Buhari Cup would help her solidify South Africa’s preparation for the upcoming Africa Women’s Cup of Nations qualifiers. The six-nation invitational women’s showpiece also features Cameroun, Ghana, Morocco, Mali and hosts Nigeria.

In Ellis’ 25-player squad are 19 home-based professionals and six overseas based stars, including Thembi Kgatlana of Atletico Madrid and captain Janine Van Wyk of Glasgow City.

The 19 invited local players are expected to arrive at the SAFA Technical Centre (Fun Valley) today for a one-week training camp before leaving for Nigeria.

The players in the squad are Goalkeepers Kaylin Swart (JVW FC) and Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape), as well as defenders Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk); Janine Van Wyk (Glasgow City); Tiisetso Makhubele (Tshwane University of Technology); Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Bongeka Gamede (University of Western Cape); Koketso Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology FC).

The midfielders are Ntombifikile Ndlovu (Sunflower FC); Ongeziwe Ndlangisa (Sunflower FC); Oratile Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC); Nomvula Kgoale (Tshwane University of Technology); Thembi Kgatlana (Atletico Madrid); Refiloe Jane (AC Milan); Linda Motlhalo (Djurgardens FC); Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC); Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape); and Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC).

The attackers in the team are Lelona Daweti (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape; Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Hildah Magaia (Moron BK); Faya Mandisa (Lindelani Ladies); and Nthabiseng Majiya (Richmond Ladies).

Back to top button